Impression: Screenprint – Demo Day

The impression studio had demo session at screen printing. For some it’s the first time and the rest it was a refresher of what we knew about the process. For me, it was a great refresher because I haven’t used it since the last time I’ve made some work using this process which was in the first year. It also helped me remember what I needed to do to apply my image to the screen.

  • Clean the screen of the last person’s work and the emulsion.
  • Leave to dry in dark room.
  • Pull emulsion across the screen ready for your image.
  • Leave to dry in dark room.
  • Place your image and screen on the UV bed to transfer image onto the screen.
  • Rinse off in the wet room to ensure ink can get through the image.
  • Leave to dry in dark room.
  • Once ready to print the printing bed needs to be set up
  • Line of ink placed at one end of screen.
  • Use squeegee to draw ink across screen, pressing firmly.
  • Carefully lift screen
  • Evaluate and repeat

Leave a comment