Blog · Creative Industry Practice · development · Graphic Design · project · research · studio

CIP: Collection Mock Up

When it came to the layout of my collection book, I had a problem with it. The problem was how to create the layout and what was a great way to showcase all the things that mandatory to be included. There were many ways to create a layout but the idea I wanted to take with this collection book was to create a magazine. After looking at different publications and researching layouts, I found that a magazine would be a great way to create a collection book. I looked at magazine layout a lot for this brief and I decided on creating a magazine style collection book because I think that a magazine is a good example of how to combine images with texts. When it to the layout I wanted to keep it simple and also balance the images with the needed texts that I have written.

The images you see below are the mock up layout I am currently using to create this brief. I have already filled in some of the spreads that are according to the brief. As you can see that it is very simple with a blank grey box where the image should go are placed in a way that would showcase the work that was produced. For the cover, I don’t know if I’m going leave it like how you see it now. I will say that this brief is the most fun brief that was given to us students in CIP then the briefs. This is because personally, this brief is so familiar to me in the sense that I’m part of the impression studio that deals with print, so this is why I found this brief enjoyable. Another reason is because I think print publication is so fascinating that look at, research and to create. There is still a lot to do for this project in terms of content. I’m currently writing more for things to put in this brief and I need to take photographs to go in the publication.

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 9.51.32 AM

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 9.51.43 AM

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 9.51.52 AM

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 9.52.10 AM

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 9.52.25 AM

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 10.04.31 AM

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 10.04.46 AM

In the previous blog post, I had thought and written that I am going to print this myself with paper stock I have obtained from G.F Smith and bind it by using glue binding method, however, this is not the case anymore because of a few good reasons. For one, time management. It would take me some time to print and glue bind all the pages together. I would use saddle stitch to bring all the spreads together however this also leads to my second reason, print. As a student, the prices to print in the university would be costly so it wouldn’t be a wise move for me to do this. It would have been an interesting looking collection book given the fact that I knew what kind of paper stock I would have used but I know that it wouldn’t be a good move to take based on how much it would cost. The new chose is to send this publication to a print website to get it printed off and I know where to send this off to.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

